Layoffs at OtherSide


#5

Fare thee well, Siegel! (sigh)


#6

Yikes, I can’t believe this guy was an emmy nominated editor!!! Why change from a career where you are nominated for emmys to making this horrid “thing”?


#7

or maybe he’s just the king of all name droppers


#8

Matt Davey: https://www.linkedin.com/in/matthewdavey/


#9

Mike Ammer: https://www.linkedin.com/in/mike-ammer-0168517/


#10

Here’s a big one - Joe Fielder: https://www.linkedin.com/in/joefielder/


#11

Yeeks!



#12

Jonathan Fields, level designer: https://www.linkedin.com/in/jonathan-fields/

Level Designer

Company Name OtherSide Entertainment
Dates Employed Sep 2018 – Oct 2019
Employment Duration 1 yr 2 mos
Location Austin, Texas Area

During my time at OtherSide Entertainment, I worked on System Shock 3 as a Level Designer, handling level creation from initial designs, including paper mapping and grey boxing, to final iteration, including propping and pacing as well designing and implementing scripted sequences and dynamic events.

I also worked as a Tech Designer handling the designing, prototyping, and implementation of key systems for the game, utilizing both C# and visual scripting tools to prototype and implement systems.


#13

OtherSide Boston office admin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/skye-poole/


#14

Kyle Uberman, QA Manager at OtherSide Austin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/kyle-uberman-57182aa/


#15

Vicki Resendez, Senior Producer: https://www.linkedin.com/in/vresendez/


#16

Is this normal in the gaming industry?


#17

People coming and going aloing with funding coming and going? Yes. At least here you won’t hear about rhe common layoffs of hundreds.


#18

…maybe not 100s, but there were instances in the old days of company lay-offs en masse (actually, perhaps some of those did number in the 100s).

Hardly a surprise when you consider the relative success or failure of those games where the company only works on one or two properties/games at a time.


#19

Lead Programmer Mark Allender: https://www.linkedin.com/in/mallender/

Lead Programmer

Company Name OtherSide Entertainment
Dates Employed Dec 2017 – Nov 2019
Employment Duration 2 yrs
Location Austin, Texas Area


#20

OK, when the Lead Programmer leaves, even I have to hope OtherSide finds a publisher for System Shock 3 soon.


#21

if only Starbreeze had been financially sound… SS3 MUST see the light of day! Warren said there had been plenty of publisher interest…


#22

…followed by plenty of Due Diligence, one would hope…


#23

Francisco Cruz III, Senior Environment Artist: https://www.linkedin.com/in/franciscoc3/

Sr Env Artist

Company Name OtherSide Entertainment
Dates Employed May 2018 – Nov 2019
Employment Duration 1 yr 7 mos
Location Austin, Texas Area

System Shock 3

  • Environment modeling.
  • Creepy lighting (Enlighten).
  • Technical arts (Emissive blinks, scrolls, upvectors, and WPO in Shader graphs).
  • Performance.
  • Unity, HDRP.
  • Surviving Shodan.

#24

Elizabeth Legros, who spoke at GDC this year: https://www.linkedin.com/in/elizabeth-legros/

OtherSide Entertainment
Total Duration 2 yrs 6 mos

  • Senior Graphics Programmer
    Dates Employed Jun 2019 – Nov 2019
    Employment Duration 6 mos
    Location Austin, Texas Area
  • Programmer
    Dates Employed Jun 2017 – Jun 2019
    Employment Duration 2 yrs 1 mo
    Location Austin, Texas Area